Swank Properties Property Reviews
We at Swank Properties think all our properties are fantastic, but you don’t have to take our word for it! In the reviews below you can see what other guests thought about their stays with us. You can also find all the reviews for a specific property in the “Reviews” tab on every property detail page.
If you have stayed in one of our properties and would like to submit a review, you can do so on any property detail page by clicking the “Review This Property” button under the “Reviews” tab. You may also submit a review by email to firstname.lastname@example.org or by phone at 888-303-2771.
My sons came to visit and we took a trip to Boston. We lucked out to stay at the Parker Hill carriage house. Clear guidelines were detailed on the refrigerator. The apartment seemed larger to me than expected for a city apartment. It was immaculate and easy to keep up.
The T was just down Parker Hill Avenue, so it was easy to travel downtown. My only recommendation for travelers is to leave plenty of energy for the walk back up Parker Hill Avenue from the T.
Overall the place was quiet and had everything we needed. Plenty of towels and blankets. Kitchen was well stocked. Location was great.
Place was nice, very clean. 2 stories, so a lot of space (but we have a toddler so I do wish I had known that there would be stairs). It was 15 degrees during our trip; it took a full night to get the place heated and it never got really warm (the BR floors in particular were freezing cold). This unit was separate from the main bldg, so lots of privacy, which was nice. The door to the unit emptied into the parking lot, but we always felt safe. Unit is at the top of a very steep hill, so you need to be in decent shape if you want to walk to the T. Overall, I do recommend this unit and Swank.
nice place to stay
I had a week long stay at 206 on Parker Hill. I had a few questions and the management team was responsive and professional. When we walked into the unit, my daughter said that they place was nicer than she was expecting. It was very clean and well equipped. The building was also safe.
The only thing I would change is the lamp next to the bed.
Thank you and we will stay again next-time we are in the Boston area.
Response from Swank PropertiesThanks Michael! Sorry about the lamp. We see that the knob to turn on/off was bent previously and it is scheduled for replacement!
All as advertised in this very clean, spacious and comfortable apartment, easy to get to with a long and steep walk ups the hill.
Apartment was very nice. Easy walk to green line. Quiet location. Easy check in and check out.
Response from Swank PropertiesThanks for the review Brian! The location is definitely a five star, but I do appreciate that you felt the hill a bit of a challenge. For those that drive, UBER or don't mind being two blocks away from Huntington Ave. this unit is for you!
We had a very good experience. The place was very clean and perfect for our purposes. Easy check in and check out
It was a good, basic, clean apartment. It appears to be located in a college student area, but there were not loud parties or people on the street. I would stay here again. The owners were very responsive and helpful when I had a problem.
Response from Swank PropertiesThank you Marcy! You were a delight to host. And you are welcome anytime!
We would recommend this place highly. Great location near an MTA stop. Place was very clean and great to have a full kitchen and washer and dryer.Only caution is very steep walk up from MTA stop which may be a problem for someone with certain health issues. For us it was perfect.
Response from Swank PropertiesWonderful having you David! Thanks for mentioning the T stop close by. As a small aside, we do provide a map on the fridge that provides a much gentler path to the T and that also goes right by the Grocery, IceCream and Pharmacy! Come again!
Very nice, clean, easy to get to, good directions, no problems.
I was nervous about this rental due to a mix up with our reservation, but I am glad to share that Lance and his team made sure everything was just right. The week before our trip, my mother was admitted to the hospital. We were not sure if our trip would happen which caused confusion with the reservation when I called. However, the checkin process was easy, condo roomy, clean, and decorated with nice furnishings. Patio furniture would be nice as well as bathroom fixtures, but still, we loved the place. I would rent it again and would recommend Swank.
The property was a wonderful place to stay and met our needs beautifully. The apartment was clean, well appointed with new appliances and decor. There was more than enough space to relax and recharge after long days. We especially liked being able to prepare a quick breakfast before heading out or having a cocktail and appetizers before going to dinner. All in all a great space in JP.
One caution- read street signs re: Street cleaning. Don’t get hit with a $90 ticket.
Response from Swank PropertiesOr... take the offer to rent a parking space in the lot, which is VERY reasonable. That helps the building, property owner, management company and YOU! :-)
The apartment was very clean and easily accessible. Was a convenient distance from different areas of Boston - we traveled all over the place, and the max uber/lyft ride was 15 minutes. Easy to walk to different shops and bakeries around. Only a few inconveniences: 1) the family of elephants upstairs (at least it sounded like elephants stomping around!) and 2) there are zero towel hooks in the bathrooms (a very slight inconvenience, but odd). Four of us stayed very comfortably and enjoyed Boston! Would recommend, thanks!
The Vacation was new and very amazing. On some days the towing service was very noisy. the location was clean, only the dishes, plates and cutlery were not clean. There is a nice terrace, unfortunately still without table and chairs. We felt very comfortable.
A group of us stayed for 4 nights in the middle of the week. Nicely equipped apartment. Having 2 baths was nice. There's a fairly consistent 'shaking' feeling during the night that doesn't take much to get used to. Also, the thermostat was weird. It got up to 80 degrees one night and the AC just would not kick on.
Nice place for a family to stay in Boston. We requested an early check-in and paid the fee. We went to the property 15 minutes before our check-in and we watched the cleaning ladies walk in as we were about to walk in. We then waited 45 minutes to finally go into the property. The place overall was clean but found a lot of dust in the corners and on the floors. The WiFi didn’t work and I informed the property management. They never fixed it or let me know if anything changed. I had to use my personal hotspot to connect to the smart TV to watch anything. Overall, it wasn’t horrible - things happen but I will not be staying here again.
A few things you should know about this Washington St. rental:
It’s on a noisy street, so you will hear lots of traffic noise all day and night as well as feel the impact (slight shaking) of every larger truck that comes by.
For me, the internet was early SLOW. To be fair, I contacted property management and they were responsive to this problem. Unfortunately it wasn’t resolved in a manner satisfactory to me while I was there.
Upon entering the rental I noticed what seemed like a tip for the cleaning service on the counter. This led me to believe that the space hadn’t been appropriately cleaned. Upon further investigation I noted a dark ring around the tub, a dryer full of towels, beds with mix matched pillow cases, and a few other clear signs that any cleaning that had occurred was “half” at best.
Again to be fair, I messaged management and the cleaning company owner who’s number was on the fridge. She responded immediately and came to remedy all. She was completely professional, apologetic, thorough, and kind. Engaging with Polly, the cleaning company owner was actually a highlight to my stay because it was one of the most genuine and personal engagements I had with this rental company.
Beyond that, the apartment is spacious and has most of the basics. It’s lacking simple things that would make for a more functional and comfortable stay- towel and tissue holders in the bathroom, more than one large pot for cooking, update in window treatments (many of the blinds were cracked or broken in places), a little bit of artwork, mattresses that don’t feel like you are sleeping on a pile of books.
All in all- it’s a place to sleep. Nothing more. I completely understand “personal touch” to be a personal preference and that some appreciate the “efficiency” of less personal. This place is missing personal touches and the company is absent of
This place was great. Clean, modern, spacious and quiet. Great location. Good price. We really enjoyed our stay. My one bit of feedback: we asked for an early check in ( check in is super late. 6 pm. ) as we arrived off the red eye. We checked in between 1 and 2 pm and were charged $95. To be fair, the check in rates for early arrival were communicated well, but since we were all ready forfeiting our last nights stay due to a change in plans, we would have greatly appreciated a discount on the early check in.
Response from Swank PropertiesThanks Megan! Complimentary check-in is 5pm, just wanted to mention that so future guests are aware they just need to ask. And to be fair, when wanting to check in that early, the cleaning company must make many accommodations that is costly to them and thus charge us. We are happy to make whatever the guest wants to happen, but sometimes there is a modest fee to make that happen. We understand that you rated us a 4 because we didn't give you a discount, but that is not something we are permitted to do. A little unfair, no? But other than that, you were a great group and would have you back, and with that discount we offered for your return visit due to your departing a day early. That is something we CAN do! Come again!
The condo was very clean and comfortable. The location was excellent for our needs. The orange subway line is about half a mile walk from condo, not a long walk at all. We felt welcome and safe while staying here. The only thing we needed was towel bars in bathrooms! Be aware that it is on the third floor and there is no elevator. Not a problem for us but just an fyi. Overall, extremely pleased with this rental.
Place was very clean had everything that we needed for our stay. Connor was very helpful with me. Very close to the T. Will definitely stay there again when I return to Boston. So much to see
The apartment was very clean and in a nice neighborhood. I completely recommend getting the parking as the street fills up fast. There is no K cup machine so bring coffee if you would like to have coffee in the morning. There is a Dominican bakery 2 buildings down that does have hot coffee as well.
Shower pressure and heat weren't excellent but the apartment really was! It was very clean, had the dishes, utensils, and cookware included.
Our families had a great time in Boston and the unit at 3399 Washington was excellent and convenient for accessing MBTA.
We had a wonderful time in Boston! The home that we stayed in with Swank Properties was spacious and very cozy! Great location and within walking distance to many restaurants and bars in JP!
The apartment was as described. Very clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.
The place was great! We had 5 people and there was plenty of room and it was very clean. The one thing it could use is a few more kitchen items. I went to open a bottle of wine and there wasn’t a wine opener.
It was easy to get downtown and to Fenway Park from here as well. I would stay here again if I came to visit again.
The accommodations were wonderful. The renovation is top notch and would definitely rent this property again. Swank Properties was very friendly and helpful with questions that we had. The only thing was when searching for a property it stated that there was an elevator, which there was not one. Am fully aware that this is a new property, details are being ironed out, but hopefully in the future the larger staircase will be used instead of the narrow one, as was rather steep and narrow, thus was hard to get luggage up to unit. Thank you! Very satisfied with stay; very satisfied with general condition; property location was a little shady and noisy (helped having fan on at night to drown out street noise), property was clean and mgmt co was very professional
The apartment was very cozy, clean and in extremely comfortable.
Response from Swank PropertiesThanks Gloria! Can't imagine why you gave it a 4 for location, as this apartment is a 10! But glad you loved everything else!
Very clean and cozy apartment with full kitchen and walking distance to groceries and restaurants. Hosts were very cordial and Ubers readily available. I would definitely recommend this place.
Fantastic time and the apartment was in an ideal location. West Roxbury is a lovely area and as such the rental is ideally located. We had a few queries/questions during the stay but Rob replied with answers and advise within (literally) minutes no matter what time of the day(sorry and thanks Rob)
Good space with plenty of room for up to 3 X families if needed.
Would highly recommend but we have used Swank before and wouldn't use anybody else
This was a perfect place for my visit to the Boston area with four high school students who were attending a summer academy at Harvard Univ. The property is beautiful and well maintained and provided a comfortable space for the students to relax and study.
The property is a two-minute walk from a bus line that takes you to a subway station (Reservoir). We took two buses to get to Cambridge. It was a very easy commute.
Someone in a previous review expressed concern about safety based on the door lock. I didn’t find this to be an issue. I felt safe in the property and the community.
My only complaints were that the towels seemed to smell moldy/musty. I was glad that I had brought my own. Also, the futon (cover and mattress) in the front bedroom seemed soiled, we opted to not use it because of this, and the couch had an odor.
Please take a flashlight if you plan to use the washing machine/dryer (located in the basement) during your stay.
Checking in and out was easy.
The customer service and support that we received from Swank Properties was excellent!
We had a great time! The place was clean and roomy. We loved the back porch! We did think there would be a grill but did not see one out back. The AC was ok. Didn't seem to cool effectively. The front small room was pretty warm. The shower curtain needs to be replaced. Mold. Parking was good and location was good. Neighborhood was nice.
Response from Swank PropertiesThanks Steve! The shower curtain was replaced based on your feedback. Thanks for bringing to our attention!
The apartment was very nice. Tastefully decorated, great kitchen, plenty of space. The neighbourhood is very nice and is a short walk to the metro that takes you directly into Boston. Also, plenty of air conditioning that helps on humid summer days. The only minor concern - very minor - is that the wattage of the bulbs in the dining room and the kitchen were very low and may visibility in the evening pretty bad (perhaps I missed a subtle dimmer switch somewhere). I had to take a lamp from the bedroom in the dining room at dinner so we could see properly.
Compliments also to the property managers, Swank. Very professional outfit. They have their own app which they make great use of. All access codes, password and check out details were provided.
When we arrived we discovered that the cleaner had not showed up. Dirty towels, sheets, etc. It was very easy to get to Swank after hours and they were able to rapidly organise clean sheets and towels. They also promptly refunded the cleaning deposit.
We've used VRBO/HomeAway frequently and for many years. Sometimes mistakes happen. Swank was able to manage our issue quickly and professionally.
Response from Swank PropertiesThank you Brian! Apologies for the schedule snafu and thank you for being so very understanding. As far as the kitchen and diningroom lights, yes indeed, they are on a dimmer switch. We will label that so it is cleared. There is a little slide button on the side of the switch to adjust. So sorry you didn't see it! Thanks again for staying and we wish you and your family the very best!
The house is in a nice quiet neighborhood and is clean with all the things you need. We had a great time and it is close to the subway station to get into Boston.
We stayed here for 4 nights. It was myself, my boyfriend, his son and my daughter. The place was a good size for all of us. It was in a very quiet neighborhood. We loved the screened in porch off the kitchen. I was a bit disappointed that the place wasn't as clean as other reviews made it out to be. There were also numerous broken items in the apartment. The towel bars in the bathroom were all broken, so no place to put wet towels or even a hand towel. There were only 5 dining chairs, and one was wobbly. The garbage disposal didn't work at first. Despite these minor issues, we did enjoy our stay and would stay again.
Response from Swank PropertiesSorry about those items! If we knew about them we would have gotten to them right away. But they are all fixed now! Not sure about what you felt was not clean, but let us know and we will have a deep cleaning on whatever bothered you. Please come again!
We where very happy with the location of the property. Very clean.The coffee pot didn't work but the owner replaced it for us.
I stayed at this lovely duplex at the last minute since I had a family member in the hospital (Brigham and Women's) and live too far away to visit regularly. It is a very sweet, attractive, well-cared-for and well-furnished upper duplex, larger than it looks in photos. It was in an ideal place for access to the Longwood area, and had good restaurants (we liked Misono) and a supermarket in walking distance. Free laundry (out of the unit) was a plus. The neighborhood feels safe and people were friendly. I stayed there with two dogs. If I have a criticism, and it is a tiny one, it would be that the lock on the front door is pretty flimsy; I would have been nervous staying there as a single female. It also would have been nice to have a door at the top of the stairs, it would not be difficult to fall down a long steep flight. But I would recommend the place to the fussiest of my friends and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.Thanks for making an otherwise difficult time a whole lot easier.
Response from Swank PropertiesSo glad we could help! Please come again any time if there is a need! Regarding the front door lock, it is original to the house of 1920's vintage, so we provide a lock bar in case anyone gets nervous. But as West Roxbury is the safest neighborhood in Boston, there has never been an incident at this home since we have managed it beginning in 2002!
Apartment was located conveniently close to two green lines making access to downtown easy. Apartment was big, kitchen well stocked, and bedroom/living areas spacious and comfortable. There were a few items we expected to be stocked that were missing, but management responded quickly and replaced them. The floor carpet in the living area was still soiled from prior guest, but otherwise all else was very clean.
The location was perfect for my family of 6. The Sparta was spacious, and clean. We enjoyed our stay.
It was wonderful. The property was perfect for our family of 5 including 3 grown boys and we had access to everything the city has to offer. It was an amazing trip.
Response from Swank PropertiesThanks Jody! We knew you would love this unit and it was a delight working with you!
We stayed in this quiet, spacious, 3 bedroom, 2 full bath unit while we were in Boston for a family event. The spacious, updated, clean and well-maintained apartment was in a perfect location for being close to other family members, shopping, restaurants, entertainment, transportation and parks in the Coolidge Corner neighborhood!
Response from Swank PropertiesThanks for the great review Cynthia! Not sure why you gave us a 4 for property condition, but we will follow up with you so we can report that back to the property owner. Gotta keep our 5's going on all counts! :-)
Wonderful! Communication before and during stay was answered promptly. Expectations for checkout were clearly written. Our family had a wonderful bonding time during this momentous occasion of college graduation. Thank you all!!!
Response from Swank PropertiesMany Thanks Kathryn! Your family was wonderful to host and you were superb at communicating with us as well. Please do visit again when you have more time to see the sites and enjoy our areas history and treasures!
My wife and our best friends wanted to see and experience Boston. We were not disappointed. Had a great stay and time in Brookline and the location of the brownstone is perfect. Close to the transit so you can get to major sights in Boston ( fenway, freedom trail, etc) , restaurants and Trader Joes. Safe neighborhood . Definitely will stay here again when we come back. Swank properties are responsive to all questions and worked with all of my little demands. House was very clean and had just about everything you need. Only minor request would be more comfortable furniture to relax in when you get back from a long day of sightseeing.
We enjoyed visiting Boston and the Freedom Trail by staying just south of downtown in this restored 4 story home. The wood floors were gorgeous and not super creaky. The best thing was that for 4 of us, we each had a bedroom and my daughter used the living area couch. There was a large sectional in the front - not what was shown in the photo. The kitchen was adequate and we used it to make breakfast each day. We used Uber successfully to and from downtown - ~$15 each way. The 10 min walk to the subway was too much for my elderly mother. We did have a few minor maintenance issues that were quickly resolved by talking to someone at Swank. The neighborhood to the immediate south of the property wasn't the greatest, but it was OK to the north. Parking was free, but a bit hard to find. We used the side street a lot. Everyone slept well, despite the road noise - we brought small fans for each room. Caution - one of the beds has a super firm foam mattress! I thought I wouldn't like it, but ended up sleeping well on it.
A good choice for us - worked dry well with our family’s coming and going style. Street parking worked well, too - except for a ticket on our daughter’s rental car for inadvertently parking in a bus stop one day, and getting our personal car keyed the night prior to leaving.
Had a wonderful time at Dorset at Upham's Corner. Close to a Shopping Center, Carson's Beach, and the T. Great neighborhood and professional property management. Would definitely recommend.
Response from Swank PropertiesThanks Amirah! Please come again and remind us that YOU are a 5-Star guest so we can give you a wonderful discount as a small token of our appreciation! Your group was delightful!
My family and I enjoy about time there, very clean and intimate Space. It was my parents first time staying in a rental home. They loved it.
We enjoyed our stay in Boston and found that Dorset at Upham’s Corner met our needs well. It was clean and very close to transport (we only used public transit). There were ample restaurants, so there was a variety of options and a grocery store was also close. If we ever return to Boston, we would definitely stay here again.
This property was well appointed with 3 bedrooms (queen size or larger beds). It had only one bathroom but it was nice and it was not a problem for my siblings and I to share. There were four of us and we enjoyed our stay. It was not far from the North End of Boston and it was an easy Uber ride there every day. The price was amazing. There is a great bar and restaurant next door. A brewery around the corner. A 7 eleven it two blocks it was conveniently located and it was in a safe neighborhood.
This property was exactly as described. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There are a couple of electric outlets that did not work in 2 of the bedrooms. Boston Street is a very busy one with a lot of road noise. There was a portable fan in my room that I used at night for "white noise". Parking was an issue since the surrounding streets have permit only signs posted.
Response from Swank PropertiesJust a tip: If an outlet doesn't seem to work in a bedroom, flip the switch that is not the overhead light. Those plugs are on the switch at the door so you can turn on a table lamp from the door without having to turn on the overhead. Another tip: Surrounding streets are "Resident Sticker Only" Mon-Fri from 10am to 2pm. If you are away during those four hours, you can park there the other 20 hrs during the day. If not, park right on Boston Street where parking is not restricted at all. JKust watch for street cleaning days/times. Cleaning is a couple hours twice a month.